Library

Library

The Vancouver Art Gallery Library is a non-circulating collection specializing in contemporary, modern and Canadian art. The Library holdings include more than 50,000 books and exhibition catalogues, 60 journal subscriptions, 5,000 artist files, sound recordings and auction catalogues that document painting, sculpture, drawing, prints, photography, video and emerging art forms. The Archives contain the official records of the Gallery since its founding in 1931 and some personal papers of local artists and writers.


750 Hornby Street
(2nd floor, Gallery Annex)
Vancouver, BC, V6Z 2H7
Hours
Mon-Thurs | 11am-5pm
by appointment*
Closed Statutory Holidays

Contact Us
T: 604.662.4709
E: library@vanartgallery.bc.ca
W: Library Website

   
* To request an appointment, please email us.

 
Holiday Hours Gallery Library
Saturday, December 24 CLOSED
Sunday, December 25 CLOSED
Monday, December 26 CLOSED
Tuesday, December 27 CLOSED
Wednesday, December 28 CLOSED
Thursday, December 29 CLOSED
Friday, December 30 CLOSED
Saturday, December 31 CLOSED
Sunday, January 1 CLOSED
Monday, January 2 CLOSED

The Catalogue describes books, exhibition catalogues, Canadian artist files and sound recordings in the collection. Pre-1990 publications are still being added.
Please contact the Library to ask about older material.


Visit the Library & Archives website for further details and to follow our Visual Arts News blog.